Walnuts, Wild Rice and Feta – Oh My!

February 15, 2009

I was working on a class I’m teaching on whole grains and I guess that inspired this salad.  It was made from leftovers but it was absolutely delicious.  It was 1 cup of cooked wild rice (cooked with chicken stock the night before), about 4 toasted walnuts chopped up and 1/2 oz of feta cheese.  The combination of the oil in the nuts, the salt in the feta and the starch of the rice was perfect.

Wild Rice with Feta & Walnuts

Wild Rice with Feta & Walnuts

293 calories for the rice salad, plus I had a salad with my own homemade dressing which is 63 calories per tablespoon.  I usually count 10 calories for a straight up veggie salad, so total count was 356 calories.  I didn’t end up finishing it all, it was so filling.

One Response to “Walnuts, Wild Rice and Feta – Oh My!”

  1. Anne Allred Says:

    Can’t locate the WONDERFUL sandwich– roasted zuchinni

    What tab is it under???


Leave a Reply

