Energy! Bars!

April 13, 2009

I came across this recipe for making homemade energy bars and I really liked the idea – I love the convenience of grabbing bars (especially on those 5 am mornings) but I’m always a little wary of some of the hard to figure out ingredients in many of them. So, I gathered up all the goods and got to work.

Ingredients.  Nothing here you can't pronounce.

Ingredients. Nothing here you can't pronounce.

They were pretty easy to make – in fact, I don’t even own a food processor (the last man standing on my wedding registry! sad!), but everything mixed together just fine in my blender. Once I got the wet ingredients, I dumped everything into a bowl and mixed with a wooden spoon.

Bar Batter.  Yummy!

Bar Batter. Yummy!

I was surprised at how thin they were, it almost didn’t cover my 9″x13″ pan (as recommended by the recipe.) The recipe says it makes 20 bars for 133 calories each – for me it made 16 bars, though I guess that depends on how you slice it! At 16 servings, they were 166 calories each. You could play around with the pan, serving sizes, thickness, calories, etc to make them to your liking.

Finished Product!

Finished Product!

It had a texture I would best compare to a chewy scone – pretty dry, but also chewy and had a great nutty flavor. I loved having a bar with a glass of milk, and a small serving of fruit (grapes or some berries) for breakfast. Was it worth making them myself? I didn’t find their taste to be better than Odwalla (my usual bar of choice), although they are lower calorically. But, I love to bake. And I’ve learned that many of my baking experiences turn into nonstop eating experiences (the smell! who can resist cookies out of the oven?) so it was nice to actually bake something that was healthy… Plus, they were so filling, I found I really wasn’t tempting to just sit there and eat piece after piece. The most compelling reason for me to make these again vs. buying store bought bars would be the control I have over the ingredients – it’s a nice change of pace to eat “convenient” food and know that there’s nothing questionable hiding within!

2 Responses to “Energy! Bars!”

  1. Heather Says:

    those look so good! that would be fun to mix and match some of the ingredients 🙂

    pics are great too.

  2. Jen Says:

    looks great, can’t wait to try these!


Leave a Reply

