Reduced to Guessing

May 7, 2009

I apologize in advance for posting something without being certain about the stats, but this was just so darn yummy.  I’m going to do my best to figure out the cals in the meantime. 

I had a bottle of red wine that someone had given to me as a gift and I questioned the drinkability of it (which should tell you something, as this girl will fill up a glass with diet tonic and top it off with Beringer White Zin).  I didn’t want to pour it out (gasp!) and I certainly couldn’t regift it in good faith, so I asked my cooking-guru Aunt Jennifer what oh what to do with an extra bottle of red.

The Vino in Question

The Vino in Question

After she confirmed that I really, really, really didn’t think it was drinkable, she told me I could use it to make a reduction sauce.  I’d never done those and it sounded somewhat complicated, but a few youtube video tutorials later, I was ready to go.

It was incredibly straightforward.  I sauteed some onions and garlic for a couple minutes, dumped in about half the bottle of the aforementioned red and let simmer.  It simmered for about 30 minutes, just long enough to make a Caesar bibb salad, saute some big onion circles and for hubby to grill up some sirloins.

Sizzzzzzling Onions & Garlic

Sizzzzzzling Onions & Garlic


End result: DELICIOUS.  It was the perfect compliment to our steaks and the best part is that it was absurdly easy.
Red Wine Reduction on Sirloin with Onions (In other words... voila!)

Red Wine Reduction on Sirloin with Onions (In other words... voila!)


However, I’m really curious as to what the stats on this would be.  A half a bottle of wine would be 310 calories + 1 Tablespoon olive oil would be another 120.  I figured that some of the alcohol had to evaporate, thus reducing the calories?  We used about 2/3rds of the sauce, so at worst, it’s a 145 cals/serving.  (310+120 = 430/3 = 143.3 per serving)  I asked my chemistry-savvy hubby who started rambling about molecular properties, boiling points and evaporation and well, I’ll be honest, I zoned out.

DEAR CHEMISTRY MAJORS, HERE IS A FUN LAB ASSIGNMENT FOR YOUR SUMMER VACAY!  (Seriously…anyone out there know how to figure out the calories in a reduction sauce?)

Needless to say, this will be a repeat in our household.  My best guess at total stats for the meal was 220 for the 4 oz sirloin, 145 (?) for the sauce, 75 for the onions (25 cals for the onion + 50 for a 1/2 T of OO), 80 cals for a light Caesar (Ken’s dressing = 70 per 2 T + 10 cals for the lettuce).  Grand total of 520…   try to do THAT at Outback!!

And yea, you might as well tack on an extra 120 calories, cos you know you’re going to pour yourself a glass of that vino and try it anyways. (A little diet tonic takes an iffy wine a long way….)

Leave a Reply

