Yes that’s right, MORE roasted veggies…

November 15, 2009

As soon as it gets somewhat cold outside, I just start getting this compulsive urge to roast every single vegetable I come across.  I’d never thought of roasting onions as a stand-alone (just mixed in with some other root veggies), but there was a recipe in October’s issue of Everyday Food that made them look so scrump I couldn’t resist.  I was cooking steaks and homemade potato fries to celebrate the end of internal medicine month for Matt, and I thought roasted onions would be a great complement.

Celebratory dinner menu: spice-rubbed sirloin steaks, homemade tater fries, roasted onions, crusty bread.

I started with 2 6 oz spuds and used my brand stinkin’ new KitchenAid multi slicer to make the tater slices.  So much easier than doing them by hand!  I never got them evenly sliced, so I was always having a few burnt or a few mushy ones on the cooking sheet.  (Thank you, Mom!  We found this lovely device on sale at HomeGoods and my mom was kind enough to no-reason gift it to me.)

IMG_0218

IMG_0225

Once sliced, I throw the taters in a ziploc baggy with about 2 tsp of olive oil and give ‘em a really vigorous shake.  Then I pour ‘em on a cookie sheet and sprinkle them with either kosher salt or a little bit of seasoning salt, depending on what kind of mood we’re in.  (Tonight was a seasoning salt kind of night.)

 

Those go in the oven at 450 for 15-ish minutes.  I really don’t know exactly how long they take, I am frequently opening up the oven to test them.  I apologize for my lack of exactness.

On to the onions!

Start with a gorgeous red onion.

IMG_0230

Chop, chop, chop.  Into wedges.  Throw in a bowl and add in some peeled garlic cloves.  Drizzle one tablespoon of olive oil over everything and then sprinkle liberally with rosemary.

IMG_0239

IMG_0242

Before you put it all in the oven, lean in a get a big sniff.  Onions, garlic and rosemary OH MY!  Your house is going to start smell delicioso in about 2 minutes.  These also go in your 450 oven (convienent!) and they’ll take 15 minutes to roast.  If you remember, sneak over and give ‘em a flip about half way through.  I was busy manning the grill and forget to do this – turned out fine.

When they’re done, you MUST must must drizzle them with a little bit of white wine vinegar.  This was the yummy clincher.  The combination of the savory oil and the hint of vinegar worked really well.

IMG_0246

Serve and eat!

Leave a Reply

