Chai Tea Latte

December 3, 2009

If you’ve been reading my blog for awhile, you know that coffee drinks are one of my all time favorite treats.  Chai lattes are right up there in my top five fave list.  I’ve been making this version at home for about a year now, saving me a little bit in both the waistline and the wallet!

I used to make this with just regular bag Chai tea (my favorite brand is Revolution tea or Tazo tea), but a friend mine came back with a bag of loose leaf chai on a recent trip to India and I’ve been totally spoiled ever since.

IMG_0532

If you live in Winston-Salem (like me!), you can get delicious loose leaf tea from local Chad’s Chai and Tea.  (You can also order his stuff on Foodzie.)

Whether or you do tea bag or loose leaf, the first step is the same: make tea and steep.

IMG_0531

While it’s steeping, boil 8 oz of milk.  I do mine for 1:30 in the microwave, but you can do it on the stove top if you want it to get really delicious and sugary.

Remove tea bag and pour about 3-4 oz of tea into bottom of coffee cop.  Add 1 Tbsp of honey, 1 tsp of vanilla extract and, optional, 1 packet of sweetener.

IMG_0533

If you have a hand frother, you can make the milk all foamy.  (If you don’t, here’s a link for Santa.  It’ll change your mornings, I promise.)  Pour the steamed milk into the tea-honey-vanilla combo.  Add a few shakes of cinnamon on top.

IMG_0534

Sit down and enjoy somewhere quiet with a nice view, preferably with a sunrise and a good read.  (Mine happened to be the Pottery Barn Christmas edition.  Eye candy galore.)   Enjoy!

IMG_0550

3 Responses to “Chai Tea Latte”


  1. Hey there!

    I would like to invite you to visit Yogic Chai at http://www.yogicchai.com

    If you enjoy REAL chai, you will be pleased just by looking at all the varieties that we offer

    Be happy to send you a sample 😉

    Ricardo Dacosta
    Co Founder of Yogic Chai


  2. […] few months ago, I posted a blog about my chai tea recipe and I was pretty psyched when I got a follow up comment from Ricardo from Yogic Chai.  He […]


  3. […] few months ago, I posted a blog about my chai tea recipe and I was pretty psyched when I got a follow up comment from Ricardo from Yogic Chai.  He offered […]


Leave a Reply

