The Rub (Subtitle: Gift Giving for Dad)

January 10, 2010

The easiest way to win my Dad over at Christmas time is with something homemade.  I was at a loss for what to get my Dad this year until one day, while digging in my pantry for a homemade rub, I got the idea to make a batch of rubs for my Dad, who is the ultimate grill-master. 

I decided to put together a gift basket of 5 different homemade rubs and 6 different types of beers, sold as singles at World Market.  I got the spice jars at World Market as well, and looked up different rub recipes online and in cookbooks that I had.  This also turned out to be a great way to use up spices, since I seem to have some that hearken back to my Baltimore days.  Five years ago.  Woops.

2009 Christmas 046 2009 Christmas 049

This was incredibly easy.  It basically involved measuring, funneling and occasionally liking my finger and doing an impromptu taste test.  β€œToo much cayenne? Nahhhh.”

 

2009 Christmas 0562009 Christmas 058         2009 Christmas 061                

These were a big hit with my Dad.  I encourage anyone with a meat lover on their list to try it out for next year.  It was very easy to find different rubs online, and the ingredients and materials were quite inexpensive.  The rubs I made are listed below.  The quantity I made filled up a container about the size of an average salt shaker. 

Last Minute Sirloin Rub:

4 t garlic powder, 4 t salt, 2 t cumin, 2 t chile powder, 1 T pepper

Carne Asada Rub:

4 t paprika, 2 t brown sugar, 2 t chile powder, 2 t salt, 1 t pepper, 1 t cumin

Cowboy Rub:

4 t coffee, 4 t thyme, 4 t salt, 2 t pepper

Memphis BBQ Rub:

1 T pepper, 1 T mustard, 1 T paprika, 1 T brown sugar, 1 T salt, 2 t garlic powder, 2 t onion salt, 1/2 t cayenne

(For the record, the Memphis is my favorite.)  Cowboy goes great on a skirt steak, Carne delicious on pork.  The Memphis goes great on chicken or pork.  Enjoy!

2 Responses to “The Rub (Subtitle: Gift Giving for Dad)”


  1. What a great idea for the men in lives. I must remember this – thanks so much for posting the amounts of each spice used.

    Thanks for reading my blog. I’m about to email you some tips. So check your inbox.

    Have a wonderful weekend…Hey Dad, I think it’s the perfect weekend for some grilled burgers! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

