Eggs In Ham Cups

March 21, 2010

 

My friend Heather sent me a link for making these egg cups, and forgive me because I lost the link.  I do remember that the recipe came from Gourmet magazine, but to be honest I didn’t follow it exactly, so I’ll just write out what I did. 

I wanted to make them because they were pretty, but fortunately for the person in my house who likes to eat food and not just take pictures of it… they were delicious.  They’re also a healthy, protein-friendly breakfast or brunch!

Assemble the ingredients.  You’ll need: thin sliced ham, mushrooms, eggs, sour cream, and optional cheese.

Heat oven to 350 and spray a muffin tin with cooking spray.

Place ham into muffin cups.  The slices of ham I had (Hormel) were pretty thick.  They weren’t as flexible as a thinner slice would be, and I had a little trouble getting them to conform to the muffin tin.  I’d recommend using a thin slice of ham. 

3 14 10 5th St Photo Shoot 086

In a pan, cook the mushrooms until they are tender.  I used a little bit of olive oil to sauté them, and it took about 8 minutes for them to be perfect.  (Have I mentioned how much I adore sautéed mushrooms?  I bet you didn’t know that about me.) 

3 14 10 5th St Photo Shoot 085

Remove them from heat and stir in 3 spoonfuls of sour cream.  (The original recipe called for crème fraiche but sour cream will do the trick, and will be a little bit lighter.) 

3 14 10 5th St Photo Shoot 097

Spoon the mushrooms into the ham cups.  If you want, add a little bit of cheese.  I used an aged cheddar and put in a cube no bigger than my pinky tip in each one and that was enough to give it some taste.

Crack an egg into each cup.  Note: I cracked the eggs into a bowl, one by one, and then poured them into the ham cup.  This seemed to keep things a little less messy.

3 14 10 5th St Photo Shoot 103

Bake them in the oven for 12-15 minutes.  You want to whites to set, but the yolk can still be a little bit runny.

Then the tricky part: getting them out.  I used two spoons, and kind of went around the edge to loosen them from the pan, then slowly lifted them.

The link I had showed these served with roasted asparagus which would be delicious.  We had a chicken sausage on hand I needed to cook, so that’s what I served them up with.  They were delish!  They look really impressive, but they’re actually quite easy to make and would be an ideal thing to make for a brunch with lots of people. 

 3 14 10 5th St Photo Shoot 116

So good!  And don’t they look pretty?  I’m guessing you could make these and keep them in the fridge for a few days to reheat as needed.  We didn’t have any leftover, though. 

That says it all, doesn’t it?

One Response to “Eggs In Ham Cups”

  1. Heather Says:

    Here’s the recipe! I can’t wait to make them too 🙂
    http://frim-fram-sauce.blogspot.com/2009/03/i-found-this-recipe-online.html


Leave a Reply

